Review: Burt’s Bees Chemical-Free Sunscreen with Hemp Seed Oil

16 Aug

ImageImage

I just got back from a three week long road trip through the southwest, california, and the Pacific northwest that culminated in a bachelorette part that included a trip to a water park in Texas. Being the pasty white person that I am, I of course stocked up on sunscreen for this adventure. I popped into Target to get a fresh tube of my favorite Alba sunscreen, when I noticed that they had the Burt’s Bees sunscreen on clearance. I decided to go ahead and give it a try, just for the heck of it.

Normally, I really enjoy Burt’s Bees products, but this was an exception. The first thing I noticed about the sunscreen was that it had an odd consistency. It had a texture that was somewhere between a lotion and Silly Putty. I figured it just needed to be warmed up, so I smeared it around on my hands before applying it in an attempt to melt it. This did not help the texture.

When applied to the skin, this sunscreen doesn’t really ever soak in. At the waterpark, I worked and worked at it to try and rub it in, but it never would. In fact, in the end it began rolling up into nasty little balls on my skin. I gave up after a while, found a bathroom, wiped off my arms, and borrowed some spray-on sunscreen from my cousin.

I would most certainly not recommend this product and am extremely surprised that Burt’s Bees would put out a product of this poor quality. My only thought is that since it was on clearance, perhaps it had expired or been discontinued. In future, I think I will stick to the sunscreens I know or ones recommened to me. No more clearance sunscreens purchased on a whim for this lady!

Hope you all have a great day!

Leave a Reply

