August Glossybox

6 Sep

I realize that it may seem odd to give you my thoughts on an August Glossybox on the 6th of September, but I literally received mine in the mail on the 31st of August and needed a little bit of time to try the products out.

This month’s box included a lip color, a nail laquer, a face primer/moisturizer, a hair oil, and a face serum.

I was first drawn to the Illamasqua nail laquer, which is a rich chocolate color. I have yet to try it on my nails, since it is definitely a fall color and summer is still going strong here. I think it will be a lovely color when things turn cool here and I’m wearing chunky sweaters and boots all the time.

Then there was the Ellis Faas lip creme (swatched above). This product had a great creamy texture that seems like it would be very moisturizing, but the color just wasn’t right for me. I have very fair skin and blond hair, so this color just came out muddy-looking on me. My mother, however, has olive-toned skin and black hair, so this color is right up her alley and I passed it along to her.

Next up is the Biolage Exquisite Oil. This product is a hair and body oil meant to alleviate dryness. So far, I have only used this on my hair and it seems a lot like any other hair oil out there. The one big plus for me is that it smells the way all Biolage products do and I absolutely love that scent.

The last two products are skincare products. The first is the Ole Henriksen Truth Serum Collagen Booster meant to prevent and correct signs of aging while brightening the skin. I have been using this as my day serum before I moisturize and I have to say I haven’t really noticed much of a change in my skin. I have a feeling this product is one that takes a while to make a difference, so I will keep using it and report back when there is more to say about it.

Finally is the Touch in Sol Feel Like Honey Moon Skin Base (say that three times fast). This primer is meant to boost collagen, give your skin a dose of vitamins, reduce wrinkles and fine lines, and minimize pores. I tested this product on the back of my hand and it felt very stick, but nice once it soaked in. I have to say I have not yet used this on my face, partly because of the stickiness, but mostly because I usually don’t use a face primer. I do plan to try it out, I just haven’t gotten around to it yet so I can’t really review it.

Did you get a Glossy Box this month? What did you think?

 

 

4 Responses to “August Glossybox”

  1. Stylishlyme (@stylishlyme) September 6, 2012 at 4:14 pm #

    I’ve never heard of a glossybox before. DO you receive a box of beauty products every month. Do you get to select them, just a little curious. The lip color sounds like it would be nice.

    -V
    @havaianas

    • Stylishlyme (@stylishlyme) September 6, 2012 at 4:15 pm #

      opps I accidentally wrote the wrong twitter. I guess I just have shopping on my mind lol

      -V
      @stylishlyme

      • BohoGlow September 6, 2012 at 4:57 pm #

        I always have shopping on my mind. 😉

    • BohoGlow September 6, 2012 at 4:56 pm #

      Glossybox is subscription based, so you get one every month unless you cancel it. You don’t get to select the products, they just send you five luxury samples every month. They are always really nice products, just sometimes they aren’t suited to you (hence my giving my mom the lip product). 😀

Leave a Reply

